President John Magufuli of Tanzania cuts Cabinet to 19 Ministers

Tanzania President reduces Cabinet from 31 to 19 ministers.

President John Magufuli on Thursday announced his cabinet of only 18 ministries led by 19 ministers and 15 deputies.

Despite breaking the silence today, after a month in office, Dr Magufuli has not yet appointed full ministers for four ministries, namely, Tourism, Education, Public Works, and Finance and Planning, saying he was still looking for the right candidates.

In the televised speech, Dr Magufuli appointed Mr George Simbachawene and Ms Anjela Kairuki as ministers in his office while Mr January Makamba was named minister in the Vice­President’s Office (Environment).

The President also appointed Ms Jenister Mhagama minister in the Prime Minister’s Office (Coordination), Mr Mwigulu Nchemba (Fisheries); Prof Sospeter Muhongo (Energy) and Dr Harrison Mwakyembe (Justice).

Other ministers in the Magufuli cabinet are Dr Augustine Mahiga (Foreign Affairs); Dr Hussein Mwinyi (Defence); Mr Charles Kitwanga (Home Affairs); Mr William Lukuvi (Lands) and Mr Charles Mwijage (Industries).

The Special Seats MP Ummy Mwalimu has been appointed Minister for Health, Mr Nape Nnauye (Information and Culture), and Prof Makame Mbarawa (Agriculture).

Magufuli’s 19­man Cabinet has been described as the leanest one the East African nation has ever had made up of new faces and six women, among them.

Magufuli’s predecessor Jakaya Kikwete’s Cabinet was made up of 31 ministers.

The lean Cabinet is seen as a continuation of President Magufuli’s commitment to cost-cutting.

He has also ordered that there be no induction retreat for the new officials whom he said should be familiar with the governing CCM party’s agenda to deliver for the people of Tanzania.

The Citizen Tanzania


Leave a Reply