Ethiopia to Build 11 New Universities in Growth and Transformation Plan II

Ethiopia’s Council of Ministers has endorsed the establishment of 11 new universities in the country by the end of its Growth and Transformation Plan II (GTP II), according to Ethiopian News Agency.

The universities will be constructed in Amhara, Oromia, Southern Nations, Nationalities and Peoples’ (SNNP) and Tigray Regional States.

Amhara, Oromia and SNNPR will each get three universities, meanwhile Tigray and Somali Regional States will each have one.

According to the approval of the Council, Raya University will be established in Maichew, Tigray, while Debark and Engibara and Mekedela Amba Universities to be built in Amhara Regional State.

Selale, Dembi Dollo and Oda Bultum Universities are going to be established in Oromia Regional State. Somali Regional State will also get Kebri Dehar University.

Similarly, SNNPR will have Worabe, Bonga and Jinka Universities in GTP II period.

The construction of the 11 universities would add to the 33 already existing universities in the country, bringing the total to 44.

This article first appeared HERE


Leave a Reply