African Writers José Eduardo Agualusa and Fiston Mwanza Mujila make The Man Booker International Prize 2016 Longlist

The Man Booker International Prize is delighted to reveal the ‘Man Booker Dozen’ of 13 books in contention for the 2016 Prize, celebrating the finest in global fiction. José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola) and Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo) are the African Writers on the longlist.

This is the first longlist ever to have been announced for the Man Booker International Prize, which has joined forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and is now awarded annually on the basis of a single book. The £50,000 prize will be divided equally between the author of the winning book and its translator. The judges considered 155 books.

The full 2016 longlist is as follows:

Author (nationality)              Translator                         Title (imprint)

José Eduardo Agualusa      Daniel Hahn               A General Theory of Oblivion
(Angola)                                                                       (Harvill Secker)
Elena Ferrante                     Ann Goldstein            The Story of the Lost Child
(Italy)                                                                              (Europa Editions)
Han Kang                              Deborah Smith                    The Vegetarian
(South Korea)                                                                  (Portobello Books)
Maylis de Kerangal              Jessica Moore                      Mend the Living
(France)                                                                        (Maclehose Press)
Eka Kurniawan                    Labodalih Sembiring                  Man Tiger
(Indonesia)                                                                         (Verso Books)
Yan Lianke                            Carlos Rojas                          The Four Books
(China)                                                                              (Chatto & Windus)
Fiston Mwanza Mujila           Roland Glasser                       Tram 83
(Democratic Republic                                                        (Jacaranda)
of Congo/Austria) 
Raduan Nassar                     Stefan Tobler                         A Cup of Rage
(Brazil)                                                                     (Penguin Modern Classics)
Marie NDiaye                       Jordan Stump                             Ladivine
(France)                                                                           (Maclehose Press)
Kenzaburō Ōe                      Deborah Boliner Boem              Death by Water
(Japan)                                                                                   (Atlantic Books)
Aki Ollikainen                      Emily Jeremiah &                       White Hunger
(Finland)                               Fleur Jeremiah                         (Peirene Press)
Orhan Pamuk                       Ekin Oklap                  A Strangeness in My Mind
(Turkey)                                                                            (Faber & Faber)
Robert Seethaler                 Charlotte Collins                       A Whole Life
(Austria)                                                                                  (Picador)

The longlist was selected by a panel of five judges, chaired by Boyd Tonkin, senior writer on The Independent, and consisting of: anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam; academic David Bellos, Professor of French and Comparative Literature and Director of the Program in Translation and Intercultural Communication at Princeton University; editor and academic Daniel Medin, who holds a comparative literature professorship at the American University of Paris (AUP); and prize-winning British poet and author Ruth Padel.

Here’s what Boyd Tonkin, chair of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize judging panel, had to say about the longlist:

Comment by Boyd Tonkin, Chair of the 2016 judges

The judges will announce a shortlist of six books on 14 April with each author and translator receiving £1,000. The winner of the 2016 Prize will be announced on 16 May at a formal dinner at the V & A, with the £50,000 prize being divided equally between the author and the translator of the winning entry. The prize is sponsored by Man Group, one of the world’s largest independent alternative investment managers, which also sponsors the Man Booker Prize for Fiction. Both prizes strive to recognise and reward the finest in contemporary literature.

You can read more about the 2016 longlist here.


Leave a Reply