Ethiopia begins Building 11 New Universities

U of G gate.

Ethiopia’s Ministry of Education (MoE) has begun the construction of 11 universities in various parts of the country.

This was revealed at a discussion Higher Education Affairs Standing Committee of the House of People’s Representative (HPR) held today with Higher Education Relevance and Quality Agency (HERQA).

The universities include Deberk, Enjibara, Raya, Mekedella Amba, Tulu Awla, Dembi Dollo, Selale, Bonga, Werabe and Jinka universities.

The first phase of construction of most of the universities will be completed next year and they will begin enrolling students a year later, Dr Kaba Urgessa, Education State Minister, told the committee.

The new universities will begin enrolling a total of 77,000 students after four years.

This post first appeared HERE


  1. This is good transformation and job opportunity for all and I have BA in management with CGA 3.58 therefore, I want to apply graduate Assistant at 11 new university.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.