2014 CNN Multichoice African Journalist Award WINNER To Emerge Tomorrow

The winner of the 2014 CNN Multichoice African Journalist of the Year Award will be unveiled tomorrow, October 18, 2014, in a ceremony in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Competition is the most prestigious and respected Award for journalists across the African Continent. Its objective is to reinforce the importance of the role of journalists in Africa’s development and to reward, recognise and encourage journalistic talent across all media disciplines.

The 2014 finalists have been announced by Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel.

This year the competition received entries from 38 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.

Congratulations to the 28 finalists from 10 countries:

1. Daniel Biaou Adje, ORTB, Benin

2. Safia Berkouk, El Watan, Algeria

3-4. Vinayak Bhardwaj & Tabelo Timse, M&G Centre for Investigative Journalism, Mail & Guardian, South Africa

5. Romão Brandão, Jornal OPAÍS, Angola

6. Sean Christie, Freelance for Landbouweekblad and The Mail & Guardian, South Africa

7. Obinna Emelike, Business Day, Nigeria

8-9. Ben Ezeamalu & Emmanuel Ogala, Premium Times, Nigeria

10. Bob Koigi, Farmbizafrica.com, Kenya

11. Joseph Mathenge, Freelance for The Saturday Nation, Kenya

12-13. Anne Mawathe & Rashid Ibrahim, Citizen TV, Kenya

14. Patrick Mayoyo, Daily Nation, Kenya

15-16. Christine Muthee & Oliver Oscar Ochanda, Media Development in Africa (MEDEVA), Kenya

17. Dickson Ng’hily, The Guardian, Tanzania

18. John Muchangi Njiru, The Star Newspaper, Kenya

19. Olatunji Ololade, The Nation Newspaper, Nigeria

20. Bayo Olupohunda, Columnist, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

21. Ossène Ouattara, Infoduzanzan.com, Côte d’Ivoire

22. Brito Simango, Televisão de Moçambique, Moçambique

23-24. Joy Summers & Susan Comrie, Mnet Carte Blanche, South Africa

25. Suy Kahofi, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal

26. Paballo Thekiso, Saturday Star, South Africa

27. Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Moçambique

28. Evelyn Watta, Sportsnewsarena.com, Kenya

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.