11 Authors Shortlisted for $100,000 NLNG 2014 Nigeria Prize for Literature

11 Authors Shortlisted for $100,000 NLNG 2014 Nigeria Prize for Literature

0 6

NLNG Prize for Literature

The Advisory Board for the Nigeria LNG-sponsored 2014 edition of The Nigeria Prize for Literature, led by Emeritus Professor Ayo Banjo has announced an initial shortlist of eleven books, drawn from 124 entries received from Nigerian authors.

The Advisory Board also has Professor Jerry Agada and Professor Ben Elugbe as members.

The shortlisted authors list in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Abba, John Friday – Alekwu Night Dance
Adaofuyi, Patrick Ogbe – Canterkerous Passengers
Cole, Soji – Maybe Tommorrow
Edema, Paul – A plague of Gadflies
Idada, Jude – Oduduwa, King of the Edos
Momodu, Onshore Ruth – No fault of mine
Ogezi, attah Isaac – Under a Darkling Sky
Okoh, Julie – Our wife Forever
Solanke, Ade – Pandora’s Box
Udoka, Arnold – Akon
Ukala, Sam – Iredi War

The list was presented by chairperson, panel of judges for this year’s prize, Prof. Charity Angya, professor of Theatre and Drama and Vice-Chancellor, Benue State University, after two months of intensive scrutiny. Other members of the panel of judges include Prof. Ahmed Yerima, a past laureate of the prize and professor of Theatre Arts, Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State and Prof. Akanji Nasiru, a well-respected scholar and professor of Performing Arts, Bowen University Iwo, Osun State.

Bookmakers of this highly prestigious literature prize will this year again be faced with a tough challenge as in the past; the contest for the prestigious largest literature prize in Africa will again be keenly contested.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature has since 2004 rewarded eminent writers such as Gabriel Okara (co-winner, 2005, poetry), Professor Ezenwa Ohaeto (co-winner, 2005, poetry) for The Dreamer, His Vision; Ahmed Yerima (2006, drama) for his classic, Hard Ground; Mabel Segun (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) for her collection of short plays Reader’s Theatre; Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo (co-winner, 2007, children’s literature) with her book, My Cousin Sammy; Kaine Agary (2008, prose); Esiaba Irobi (2010, drama) who clinched the prize posthumously with his book Cemetery Road; Adeleke Adeyemi (2011, children’s literature) with his book The Missing Clock; Chika Unigwe (2012 – prose), with her novel, On Black Sister’s Street and Tade Ipadeola (2013 – poetry) with his collection of poems, The Sahara Testaments.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature rotates yearly amongst four literary genres: prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature. The 2014 prize is for drama and comes with a cash AWARD of $100, 000. Next year’s genre will be children’s literature.

Nigeria LNG Limited remains committed to responsible corporate citizenship and The Nigeria Prize for Literature is one of its numerous contributions towards helping to build a better Nigeria.

A shortlist of three is expected to emerge in September and a winner anticipated in October.


Leave a Reply